top of page

Environmental Rating Scales for Early Childhood Program Quality

The Environmental Rating Scales were designed to assess the quality of an early childhood program. The quality is based on various areas of a program. There are four different rating scales designed for different segments of the early childhood field.

The quality rating is from 1 to 7. One (1) is considered inadequate and seven (7) would be an excellent score in a particular area.

The early childhood Environmental Rating Scale (ECERS) is designed to assess the preschool and kindergarten programs for children 2 through 5 years of age.

The Infant/Toddler Environmental Rating Scale (ITERS) is for assessing children from birth to 2 1/2 years of age.

The School Age Care Environmental Rating Scale (SACERS) is for school age assessment.

For the family child care program, there is the FCCERS or the Family Child Care Environmental Rating Scale. This scale is designed for assessing the home program of infants to school-agers.

Here are some of the area that are looked at during the assessment:

• Space and Furnishings

• Personal Care Routines

• Language-Reasoning/ Listening and Talking

• Health and Safety

• Staff Development

• Activities

• Interactions

• Program Structure

• Parents and Staff/Provider

We use the assessments when helping a program to get to the highest level of quality on the YoungStar rating scale in Wisconsin. Each classroom is visited and looked at using the rating scale score sheet and then a detailed written report is completed which lists recommendations for improvement.

Contact Networx, to have your program assessed with the Environmental Rating Scales by a State and Registry approved PDAS Master Consultant.

Tina Oliver, M.Ed.

Training and Development Specialist

Networx LLC,

Early Childhood Training, Resource and Consulting Company

130 views0 comments
bottom of page